National Police Week 2023

Spring Hill, TN – In 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15 falls, as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others.

The following officers from Tennessee will be added to the Law Enforcement Memorial:

  • Daniel Todd Wallace, of the Brownsville Police Department
  • Frank Keith Rezac Jr., of the Carroll County Sheriff’s Office
  • Dale Leroy Wyman, of the Hardeman County Sheriff’s Office
  • Matthew Stephen Locke, of the Hardin County Sheriff’s Office
  • Terry Wayne Stowe, of the Madison County Sheriff’s Office
  • Richard Lee Barnes, of the Newbern Police Department
  • Gregory Lynn Triplett, of the Waverly Police Department
  • Jeffrey Herndon Carson, of the Franklin Police Department
  • Kevin Jay Stolinsky, of the LaVerge Police Department
  • Christopher Allen Jenkins, of the Loudon County Sheriff’s Office
  • Bradley Alan Miller, of the Maury County Sheriff’s Office
  • Corille Cortez Jones, of the Memphis Police Department
  • Robert Frank Clayton, of the Polk County Sheriff’s Office
  • Cecil Earl Nunley, of the Sequatchie County Tennessee CO, District 6
  • Bridgette Lachelle Hunter, of the Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
  • Harold Lee Russell II, with the Tennessee Department of Safety
  • Vince Arnold Mullins, with the Tennessee Department of Safety

In total, 556 names will be engraved on the Memorial. If you would like to learn more about National Police Week, please follow this link.

SHPD Corporal Jeremy McLaren’s name was engraved in the Memorial in 2011 after he lost his life on February 7th, 2010.